THE WORSHIPFUL COMPANY OF GLASS SELLERS THE GLASS SELLERS' TROPHY.

The Trustees of the Glass Sellers' Charity agreed to the introduction of this trophy in 1981 following a proposal by Past Master Michael Nathan on 16.12.1980. The trophy is awarded to the engraver adjudged "The best first time exhibitor" at the Guild of Glass Engravers National Exhibition of members work. Whilst it carries no cash prize, winning the trophy is highly valued as an encoragement to engravers, and several winners have subsequently achieved eminence and have been elected Fellows of the Guild. The trophy is retained by the winner, and it consists of a piece of glass on which is engraved the Glass Sellers' Crest together with the winner's name and date.

The Guild itself was formed in 1975 by a small group of professional engravers who wished to band together to revive the art and craft of glass engraving, which had largely died out in this country. Their objectives were to exchange information about the various different techniques of point, wheel and drill engraving, together with sandblasting, and the sources of supply of glass and tools, etc, and also to organise and run educational courses to encourage others, and to hold exhibitions of members' work. The founding President was Laurence Whistler, and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother graciously consented to become Patron. The Guild was granted Charitable status in 1993.

Past Master Michael Nathan heard about the Guild shortly after its formation, and then encouraged his fellow Trustees on the Glass Sellers' Charity Fund to sponsor one of the Guild's early exhibitions, and also to give financial support for its educational efforts with display boards and videos illustrating the various techniques. He also joined the Guild as a non-craft member and became a member of the Guild Council. He served as Chairman for five years, as President for a further seven years, and was then made an Honorary Fellow of the Guild.

The first Exhibition was in September 1981. The winners of the Trophy have been as follows. (Those years marked ~ indicate years with no Exhibition and thus no Trophy was awarded.)

1981 Jacques Ruijterman 1982 Tony Gilliam 1983 Gisella Tarbuck 1984 Audrey Leckie 1985 John A Romney 1986 Katharine Coleman 1987 Nicholas Rutherford 1988 1989 L Anderson 1990 Pamela Stewart 1991 David Pilkington 1992 1993 Julian Cole 1994 Geoffrey Thwaites 1995 Peter Russell 1996 1997 Amanda Lawrence 1998 Susan Riley 1999

THE WORSHIPFUL COMPANY OF GLASS SELLERS

THE GLASS SELLERS' TROPHY WINNERS (Cont'd).	
2000	Maurice Wilson
2001	~
2002	Lizabeth Sterling
2003	~
2004	Maciej Dyszkiewicz
2005	~
2006	Philip Dorman
2007	~
2008	Nancy Sutcliffe
2009	~
2010	Edmond Suciu
2011	~
2012	Hiroko Shoami
2013	~
2014	~
2015	Guergana Subkova
2016	~
2017	No Award (Only 1 entrant)
2018	~
2019	~
2020	~

Note:

Katharine Coleman, who won the Trophy in 1986, won a special award from the Glass Sellers at their exhibition in 2007 for the best exhibit by a glass engraver. It was a vase entitled "City Blocks". She was awarded the MBE for glass engraving in the 2009 New Year Honours list. She was also the Master's Principal Guest at the Court & Livery Dinner on 14th March 2011. She was granted the Honorary Freedom of the Glass Sellers Company on 11th June 2015 and became an Honorary Liveryman on 24th September 2015.