THE WORSHIPFUL COMPANY OF GLASS SELLERS

THE TECHNICAL AWARD FOR INNOVATION & EXCELLENCE (SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY).

Originally, this award for specialist glass development was to be presented every five years. The first presentation was at the Mansion House Banquet on 28.10.1980. In fact, the award has been presented whenever a new development has been considered worthy. The winners have been as follows:

<u>Year</u>	<u>Name</u>	<u>Details</u>
1980	Dr. J C Carling	A reappraisal of mathematical modelling of
	BSc.PhD.	flow and heat transfer in glass tank forehearths.
1986	A). R J Charleston	Book "English Glass".
	B). T Foster & Dr. S P Jones	New mould cooling technique.
1990	Prof. G Neville Greaves	Glass forming liquids.
	& Dr. Adrian C Wright	Glass structure & gas solubility.
1993	Dr. Philip H Gaskell	Atomic structure of glass.
1999	Prof. Peter F James	Glassy sealant for solid oxide fuel cells.
	& Dr. Peter H Larsen	
2001	Dr. Kevin Sanderson BSc.PhD.	Self cleaning glass.
2006	Joseph Vittoria	Largest glass fibre yacht - Mirabella V.
2008	Philip Grainger on behalf of GKN Aerospace	Glass fibre aircraft sensors.
		(It was noted in December 2014 that
		there had been no award since 2008)
2019	The Engineering Division	Pioneering work on the design,
	of the RNLI	construction, and robustness of
		Life Boats using Fibre Glass.