The Guildhall School Of Music & Drama Award

On 19.9.1985 the Court approved the presentation of a Glass Sellers’ Rosebowl to the Runner-up in the annual Gold Medal Music Competition of the Guildhall School of Music & Drama held each May.

Awards have alternated between an instrumentalist and a singer. After 1998 the prize was changed to The Glass Sellers’ Music Prize and became a beautiful piece of cut glass.

The winners have been as follows:-

1985Robert PoultonBaritone
1986Miss Karen JonesFlautiste
1987Miss Ann LewisMezzo-Soprano
1988Miss Lucy ParhamPianist
1990Miss Louise HopkinsCellist
1991Gwyn Hughes JonesBaritone
1992Miss Rachel CannonClarinetist
1993Miss Alison BuchananSoprano
1994Miss Arisa FujitaViolinist
1995Ivan LudlowBaritone
1996Miss Kia Hui TanViolinist
1997Miss Caroline ChildeSoprano
1998Miss Miriam TeppichViolinist
1999Miss Sally MatthewsSoprano
2000Juliette BausorFlautiste
2001Barry MartinBass
2002Sergei SalovPianist
2003Jose AparicioTenor
2004Adam MackenzieBassoonist
2005Joana SearaSoprano
2006Vitan IvanovDouble Bass
2007Benedict NelsonBaritone
2008Bartholomew LaFolletteCellist
2009Jonathan SellsBaritone
2010Diana IonescuPianist
2011Ashley RichesBaritone
2012Ben SchoemanPianist
2013Joshua Owen MillsTenor
2014Max MausenClarinetist

At a Court Meeting held on 10th March 2015, it was announced that the Board of the Guildhall School of Music and Drama wished to amend the awards at their Gold Medal Competition so that only the solid Gold Medal itself was presented. The Board was deeply appreciative of the Glass Sellers’ awards over the past 30 years and invited the Company to transfer their award to another competition. The Court decided to adopt the Beethoven (Piano) Competition starting in 2015 and would continue to present a piece of cut glass together with a cheque for £1000. The winners have been as follows:

2015Yundu Wang
2016Soohong Park
2017Joon Yoon (Who also won the 103rd Gold Medal Prize in 2018)
2018David Soo
2019Chun Him Tam
2020William Bracken

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *